About NCCAOM Renewal Requirements

NCCAOM Acupuncture Continuing Education Courses & Requirements

Approved by NCCAOM

Provider Number: # 9386

License Renewal Requirements:

The NCCAOM (National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine) recertification requirements are as follows:

1. Recertification Cycle: Active Diplomates must renew their certification every four years. Each Diplomate has a four-year recertification cycle attached to each certification held​.

2. Professional Development Activity (PDA Points) / Continuing Education Unit (CEU Credits): A total of 60 PDAs/CEUs must be provided for recertification. This coursework must be completed within the recertification cycle​.

3. Continuing Education Requirements:

  • At least 22 PDAs, up to 52 PDAs, must be earned in AOM (Core Competency) in any of the following subcategories: AOM-OM (Oriental Medicine Foundation & Theory), AOM-AC (Acupuncture), AOM-CH (Chinese Herbology), AOM-ABT (Asian Bodywork Therapy), AOM-BIO (Biomedicine/Western Medicine)
  • At least 2 PDAs must be earned in Ethics
  • At least 2 PDAs must be earned in Safety
  • A 4 PDA CPR Course (More on this below)

4. CPR Certification:

  • A CPR certificate is required per recertification cycle in addition to the required 56 PDAs.
  • 4 PDA points are awarded for the CPR certificate, which the student must submit on their own.
  • Diplomates can complete any online or in-person CPR course, as long as they can provide a certificate of completion or a CPR card​​​​.

These requirements are designed to ensure that practitioners maintain their knowledge and skills in acupuncture and TCM. It's important for professionals in this field to stay updated with these requirements for their practice and professional development.